top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Wonder Woman Wednesday


Meet our Wednesday Wonder Woman, Delphine Jean-Gilles,

founder and designer at Red Dolphins organic T-Shirts.

When you were a little girl, what did you want to be when you grew up?

An astronaut or an oceanographer, avoiding gravity by all means.

What do you do now? For work? For fun?

I run a t-shirt business and also work as a hand model. In my spare time I practice martial arts, volunteer for a charity called Crisis , love travelling discovering the world with my husband and daughter.

How did you get into your area of expertise?

Accidentally. I studied interior design and worked for an architectural company for 2 years. I was made redundant in November 2009 and going back to work full time for another company didn’t appeal to me at all, so I decided to take a short break and explore other possibilities. During that time I worked on some designs ideas, researched about textile and particularly focused on sustainable fabrics, which really drew my attention. In January 2010, I enrolled in a screen-printing course and started to sell my t-shirts online and locally at Greenwich market.

What obstacles have you faced in following your dreams and how have you overcome them?

I’ve had a series of setbacks and situations when I wanted to give up and go back to a more stable job. Staying focused and having identified right from the beginning what my motivations were allowed me to stay on track and to tackle challenges as they came along.

What’s the best part of what you do?

I love working in my studio, being my own boss and the creative process behind every projects. I also really enjoy the interaction with my customers, which I find really rewarding.

What advice do you have for other women who might want to follow suit?

Don’t be afraid to start from scratch, surround yourself with supportive and enthusiastic people, share your ideas, ask for advice from people who have been there and experienced it before you. Don’t be put off by mistakes and setbacks they always contribute to your growth and help you become better at what you do.

What’s your morning routine?

School run, smoothie, emails sorting and the day can start.

3 things that are on your ‘to do’ list today?

Zip card

School fees

Renew MOT

What are you working on at the moment? Next project?

I am currently putting strategies in place to stock my products in different part of the world as I’ve had several inquiries form various stockists.

I am also working with a young artist, launching her small range of printed t-shirts and I volunteer weekly for Crisis to help them building up towards the opening of several shops in London.

One woman you admire and why?

Both my mother and grandmother, two powerful characters and very different ways.

Three wishes?

More sun

More fun

More cheese…

Who do you turn to for advice?

Depending on the nature of the problem it ranges from close friends, family and experts in their fields.

Who do you turn to for a shoulder to cry on?

My soulmate

Favourite book?

The Warrior Within – John Little

Favourite movie?

Too many I can’t choose.

Favourite childhood game?

Rollerblading on dangerously steep hills

Fantasy career?

Olympic Gymnast. I always wanted to learn how to fly.

Words for Monday motivation?

Rock with you – Michael Jackson

Favourite quote?

Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do. - Bruce Lee

bottom of page