top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Wonder Woman Wednesday - Carolyn Sykes


Meet the gorgeous Carolyn Sykes, entrepreneur and horsewoman. Carolyn brings Eastern philosophy to busy western lifestyles, offering meditation and health solutions to busy driven women.

When you were a little girl, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A: When i was a little girl i wanted to work with horses, in Spain !!! I wanted to teach something - probably horse related - and would by playing teacher with my friends, writing on a make shift white board and handing out exercise books for them to write in which, I got from my granny who was a teacher. I also loved playing with money.

What do you do now? For work? For fun?

Now i am a meditation teacher, and a holistic therapist. I consider myself an entrepreneur and a horsewoman. For fun I do all of the same things i do for work ! I also love to read and do yoga.

How did you get into your area of expertise?

I started on a long journey of trying everything I didn't want to do in order to find what I did. I got quite stressed in my early twenties working at well paid but not enjoyable jobs and i found Reiki helped me to feel well, vibrant and ignited my passion for more helpful, fulfilling work. I began training in Reiki and many other therapies in my early twenties, attracting into my life world class teachers like Jason Chan and Barefoot Doctor, teaching Reiki and meditation by my late twenties and here i am today :)

What obstacles have you faced in following your dreams and how have you overcome them?

I think the biggest obstacle I have faced and overcome in following my dreams has been financial insecurity. I started out with nothing, living at home with my parents, blowing all of my money on designer clothes and weekend binges and getting deeper and deeper into debt. I learned pretty quickly (thankfully) that I needed to stop drinking and partying in order to get my vitality up to a sufficient level in order to get my life back out of the red and into the black. I left home and went to work in the horse racing industry which pays well and offers accomadation. At the same time facing my mortal fears on a daily basis out on the gallops and training in all of my therapies by going on weekend courses. Once I had gained the qualifications, I had to build up my experience and reputation whilst still working full time. I finally stepped out on my own last year and have not looked back since.

What’s the best part of what you do?

The best part of what I do is helping people. Helping to re-connect them to their true self, the one that has been covered up by layers of self doubt, negative self talk, societal programming and in some cases long term or acute illness.

Also, I love being in charge of my own schedule.

What advice do you have for other women who might want to follow suit?

Never give up! It can feel like a long arduous journey and like its never going to end, but if you commit to yourself and keep up your commitment one day you will turn the corner and it will feel like everything we go through is for a reason.

What’s your morning routine?

Wake up, say a prayer, cup of tea while i read A Course In Miracles lesson of the day, meditate for at least half an hour.

Then get ready, go to the stables to feed and muck out my horse, then i'm ready for whatever the day holds in store!

3 things that are on your ‘to do’ list today?

Today :

1) Get some of my dissertation done.

2) Massage children with developmental difficulties and complex illness.

3) Teach my meditation class this evening.

What are you working on at the moment? Next project?

Currently working on my new website! Getting some videos done this week and going live as soon as they are ready. Also my dissertation and the clinical phase of my degree.

Next project after I obtain my degree is to continue to grow my community both locally and online, and take Kundalini Yoga Teacher training.

One woman you admire and why?

I have to say I admire many women but the one who I totally admire is Annie Mac, radio one dj. I love her becasue I think she is such a good role model to women and girls. She is roughly my age and has become hugely successful and adored worldwide just by dong something she loves and is passionate about. I listen to all of her radio shows and would love to be interviewed by her about wellbeing and/or meditation on radio 1.

Three wishes?

1) For things to be exactly as they are.

2) Perfect Health

3) Perfect Wealth

Who do you turn to for advice?

For advice I always turn to my life mentor in business and spirituality, Jason Chan. Also Vivienne Talsmat. Jason is a world class teacher of enrgy work and Vivienne is a world class nutritionist, they are my biggest inspirations and dearest friends.

Who do you turn to for a shoulder to cry on?

Lucky Boy! My beautiful horse, who is all of my family rolled into one :)

Favourite book?

Power vs Force by David R Hawkins

Favourite movie?

The Mists of Avalon.

Favourite childhood game?

The 'wallet game'!

Fantasy career? Why?

World class spiritual leader. Because it is the highest vocation.

Words for Monday motivation?

Do what you love and it will never feel like work!

Anything played by Annie Mac.

Favourite quote?

You can work to make money or you can work at a dream, if you work at the dream you'll make more money.

Contact Carolyn:

bottom of page