top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Bodhi Babes Wonder Women - Zoe McBeth

This babe is ultra crazy... and ultra awesome! Teacher, super triathlete and tireless fundraiser for Breakthrough Breast Cancer

972215_563488080364274_573764752_n.jpg

When you were a little girl, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was a little girl I wanted to be a photographer like my dad but by the time I was old enough to make career choices, the digital world was taking hold and my dad advised against this as a job. I also went through a phase of wanting to be a chef for magazines!!

What do you do now? For work? For fun?

I now work as a teacher in a beautiful prep school on the Essex Suffolk border. I work 3 days a week, specializing in Physical Education and on the 2 days that I don’t work, I train so that I can stay as fit as I can for my challenges as ‘Ultra-Crazy Girl’ (www.fb.com/AnotherUltraCrazyYear)

18325_475141519198931_232456833_n.jpg

How did you get into your area of expertise?

I wouldn’t say I am expert in anything that I do but I am gaining experience and that is helping me to improve. I have been running for quite a number of years now and setting challenges that help to raise funds and awareness for breast cancer charities for the past 10 years. I have completed a number of swim, bike, run events and also put them together within triathlons as often as I can. I’m not sure if I remember the thing that first got me interested but with each new challenge that I set myself … my passion for doing more just grows and grows.

What obstacles have you faced in following your dreams and how have you overcome them?

As a working mum, time is always an obstacle and in recent years (strangely, since I turned 40!!) I have had a few injuries to deal with that have stopped me from training as much as I want/need to. I am currently having a month off to allow my body to rest and recover so that I can hopefully tackle my next challenge injury free!

1483319_631489076897507_156360943_n.jpg

What’s the best part of what you do?

Surprising myself and achieving things that I never thought were possible!! Also raising the funds for the charities that I support and receiving messages from people who have taken up a new challenge because they have seen something that I have done … that always makes me smile.

What advice do you have for other women who might want to follow suit?

DO IT!!! It really is amazing what can be achieved if you put your mind, body and soul in to it but do it sensibly and take as much advice as possible from people who have been there and done it before you!!

What’s your morning routine? Keep it clean ;-)

Work days: Get up, get the kids up, grab a protein shake and get to work (can do all of this in 1 hour)

Training days: Get up, grab a protein shake, put on an array of lycra suitable for swimming biking or running (depending on the plan) and get training!

Weekends: Watch the latest Ironman on tv … get inspired … and then train!

10368933_732484450131302_3728403550990134007_o.jpg

3 things that are on your ‘to do’ list today?

Rest, stretch and answer these questions

What are you working on at the moment? Next project?

I am currently planning my challenge for 2015 which I have called “Return of the M(a)c. In 2014 all plans were messed up because of a fall that I had in late 2013, which left me with a twisted pelvis and a whole world of pain – and I had to withdraw from a number of events. So, 2015 will see me revisiting as many of my past events as possible and to trying to complete them with a PB, including events that I had to pull out of this year. So far I have secured places in Brighton Marathon, London Marathon, Outlaw 70.3 triathlon, Outlaw iron distance triathlon and Endure 24. Other swim, bike and run events will be added to the list as soon as entries open, including Paddock Wood Half that I first completed 17 years ago!!!

10393161_716657871713960_6313497324517190538_n.jpg

One woman you admire and why?

4 times Ironman world champion, Chrissie Wellington. She is a phenomenal athlete and has does so much to raise the profile of women’s sport. She has also had her fair share of problems including overcoming injury and eating disorders … both of which I can totally relate to.

Three wishes?

For my family and I to remain happy and healthy

To be able to do what I do for as long as I possibley can

To one day compete as an age-grouper in Kona … well; you did say ‘wish’!!

Who do you turn to for advice?

My husband, and facebook!! I am regularly filled with self doubt, particularly in the build up to big events but Chris has a wonderfully calm approach to events and is always there to help me to put everything into perspective, remind me why I love what I do and encourage me to achieve my next goal. As for facebook, well you can always find an expert on there willing to give you a boost!!

Who do you turn to for a shoulder to cry on?

I have cried on many shoulders … often at start/finish lines so it’s usually whichever shoulder is the closest! Away from events, my husband is really the only one who sees/hears the tears as I do keep my personal life quite private

Favourite book?

Chrissie Wellington’s Life Without Limits

Favourite movie?

Almost impossible to say as movies are so dependent on mood but I watched About Time recently and loved that … EVERYBODY should see that film and learn from it.

Favourite childhood game?

1-2-3 IN with the kids in the street

Fantasy career? Why?

Dolphin therapy – working with the amazing animals and children and seeing how the therapy can help enhance their lives. I’ve seen so many videos about this and just think it would be THE most rewarding job … EVER!

Words for Monday motivation?

At the moment … “Don’t provoke the injured runner”

Without doubt … Robin Skouteris PopLove2

Favourite quote?

“Everything will be alright in the end … if it’s not alright then it’s not yet the end”

bottom of page