top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Bodhi Babes, Wonder Women - Faye Spiller


Meet this week's #BBWW Faye Spiller.

A beautiful babe rockin' the vintage vibe. Check out her amazing businesses:

When you were a little girl, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a jockey or a vet. I’ve never had a horse but I think it came from watching National Velvet lots as a child.

What do you do now? For work? For fun?

For work I run my own businesses, Johnny Loves June Vintage & Handmade Fairs and The Vintage Directory Brighton & Hove. I also do freelance social media work and writing.

For fun I chase my five year old around, go camping in my old VW camper, eat, watch movies and read.

How did you get into your area of expertise?

I’ve always had a love for the past and all things retro, be it music, clothes, cars or furniture. When I was made redundant from two jobs in a row, I started selling vintage clothes with a friend. We had an EBay shop and had stalls at a few vintage fairs, but decided we could take it further and run our own fairs. I carried on running them on my own from the end of last year. I started running the Vintage Directory Brighton & Hove at the start of this year. It’s a printed directory and online site for all things vintage, handmade, retro, quirky and kitsch in the Sussex area. This seemed like a natural progression as I was making lots of contacts on the vintage scene.

"Believe in what you do, and work for free if you have to, to get started. I’ve interned at design studios previously and gained invaluable experience. I’m probably the oldest intern on the block! Also never underestimate the power of making good contacts."

10358724_626326927457836_3650134420345676631_n.jpg

What obstacles have you faced in following your dreams and how have you overcome them?

Working and being a mum at the same time. Fitting it all around school hours and school holidays is always a struggle. Flying solo can sometimes throw obstacles in your way. It can be hard not having anyone to bounce ideas off or share the load with sometimes.

Venice Beach.jpg

What’s the best part of what you do?

Being my own boss, working for myself. I love working from home too and the flexibility it allows me. Also I really enjoy meeting people on the vintage scene. They are really passionate about what they do.

What advice do you have for other women who might want to follow suit?

Believe in what you do, and work for free if you have to, to get started. I’ve interned at design studios previously and gained invaluable experience. I’m probably the oldest intern on the block! Also never underestimate the power of making good contacts.

What’s your morning routine? Keep it clean ;-)

Spending 45 minutes convincing my five year old to get dressed, eat breakfast, put his shoes on and have something other than ham sandwiches in his packed lunch. Once I’ve walked him to school, I come home and have my breakfast and then switch on the laptop.

holidays.jpg

3 things that are on your ‘to do’ list today?

Answer questions for the Bodhi Babes interview

Email prospective advertisers for my magazine

Take my son to the library to renew his books on bears.

What are you working on at the moment? Next project?

Well besides from growing another baby at the moment, due at the end of the year, I’m working on my next vintage and handmade fair on 29th November at the Shoreham Centre and the Winter issue of the Vintage Directory Brighton & Hove out in November.

10462588_270771133107356_6564947143164606022_n.jpg

One woman you admire and why?

My friend Helen who runs Doily Days. She never tires of going for what she wants and achieving it. She is always full of ideas and knows how to enjoy herself along the way.

Three wishes?

To raise happy, healthy kids

To make a real success of the magazine

To go on holiday again really soon

Who do you turn to for advice?

My other half.

Who do you turn to for a shoulder to cry on?

My other half.

Favourite book?

I’ll try and narrow it down to three favourite books:

When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman.

Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger

Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates

Favourite movie?

I’m torn between Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Forrest Gump, E.T, Pulp Fiction, Hitchcock’s Rear Window and Brief Encounter.

Favourite childhood game?

Rollerskating around the local streets and making up dance routines to Wham songs in my back garden. Also Godzilla and Godzuki role playing was a personal favourite.

Fantasy career? Why?

I’m still thinking about that one!

Words for Monday motivation?

Be more dog!

Stevie Wonder For Once in My Life

Favourite quote?

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

Thanks so much Faye! You rock! Looking forward to the next Johnny Loves June Vintage Fair!

x Louise

bottom of page