top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Wonder Woman Wednesday - Vix - New Age Hipster


Ah, what a gorgeous breath of fresh air today's #WonderWoman is. I loved reading this and know you will too. Meet Vix, founder of New Age Hipster...

When you were a little girl, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was little I wanted to be a pop star, or more specifically, Kylie Minogue. I wanted to start out on Neighbours or Home and Away and then move into a music career followed by staring in musicals on the West End. You could say I've always had a desire to be shiny!

What do you do now? For work? For fun?

I'm an intuitive Tarot and Angel Card reader and creator of New Age Hipster. I help people navigate through their lives by shining some light on the areas they can't see clearly themselves and give them an insight into what may happen in the future if they continue down a certain path. I write YA novels about time travel and destiny, I shop at charity shops and I collect crystals and card decks. I make YouTube videos and I love catching the latest YA novel turned film at the cinema with a huge bucket of popcorn, or watching old 80's movies at home with a massive plate of veggie nachos, my bf and Zorro, my gorgeous grumpy old rescue cat.

How did you get into your area of expertise?

I have always wanted answers. When I was a kid I used to create my own systems of divination – little pieces of paper with yes or no on them put into a bag or the old yes and no written on each side of my eraser. In my early twenties I bought my first Tarot deck and it was like coming home. I've only been reading professionally for about a year, but it feels like I've been doing it for lifetimes, I probably have! New Age Hipster started off as a little blog where I'd share spiritual tips in a fresh, new, quirky kind of way, and now I'm offering intuitive readings and selling magical sprays and e-books too. How did I get into this? I just followed my guidance I guess. I got off the couch and started making things happen.

What obstacles have you faced in following your dreams and how have you overcome them?

I used to be a chronic procrastinator. When I began to tune in and start actually doing what I was being guided to do, things began to change. I began to ignore that voice that said – “You aren't special enough, smart enough, pretty enough, spiritual enough or good enough to do anything great,” and I started paying more attention to the one that said – “oh, yes you are”!

What’s the best part of what you do?

Making a difference in someone's life, whether it's due to some serious unblocking, a change in perspective or just being that other voice that tells them what they already knew deep down. I kind of see what I do as being like a spiritual service station. When people have been on the path for a while but aren't sure if they are on the right road, or just need a break they pop in and see me. I give them some advice for the road ahead, quicker ways, easier ways, tips for how to navigate the rough bits, fill up their petrol and I stock them up with snacks of course! If they need me again further down the path I'll be there too, because I'm a magical spiritual service station! I just love being able to help people and make people happy.

What advice do you have for other women who might want to follow suit?

Starting your own business is damn hard work. I had visions of myself walking around the house in fuzzy slippers and doing phone readings in-between my favourite day time TV shows, but it couldn't be further from the truth. I had no idea that I would have to learn so much and do so much just to get my website working and help people find it! Social Media, YouTube, Facebook for business, branding, marketing, creating cool images, advertising... it's all been an intense learning curve for me and there is still so much I am learning.

But it's the best thing I've ever done. Starting your own business really is the best personal development program there is. All of your own emotional stuff comes up and you begin to have more of a sense of who you are then you ever have before, and you know what? You'll probably find out you are way more awesome than you thought you were.

What’s your morning routine?

I'm usually up somewhere between five and six – I never used to be an early riser but it's amazing how much more you can get done when you start cracking a few hours earlier! I make a decaf tea and get back in bed to make a to do list or, if I'm feeling pretty confident about where the day is headed I'll spend half an hour reading whatever spiritual book is by my bed, right now it's Light is the New Black by the gorgeous Rebecca Campbell. Then I try to do half an hour of yoga most days, ground, clear and protect myself for the day ahead and then it's straight to the laptop where I lose myself for a few hours in whatever I'm working on – blogging, emails, social media, checking on the Etsy shop and my YouTube comments. Most days I post a daily reading to Instagram too. Eventually I have a shower which is me time. I always talk to my guides and angels in the shower to say thanks and let them know what I'm thinking about and would like help with.

3 things that are on your ‘to do’ list today?

  • A huuuuuuuuge email reading for a client; I'm going to use about eight different decks, it's going to be mega!

  • Do a long meditation. I pulled two out of three Angel cards this morning that said 'meditate'!

  • Uploading my weekly reading to YouTube.

What are you working on at the moment? Next project?

OMG this is so exciting! I'm working on my first e-course! Eeeeeek! It's going to be perfect for spiritual newbies, peeps who feel like they have some gaps in their knowledge of the basics, or anyone who's just looking for a fresh take on things.

One woman you admire and why?

There are so many! I already mentioned Kylie so I'll say Dolly Parton. She's so successful but always seems so sweet and lovely. She's living proof that you don't have to be hell on heels to get ahead!

Three wishes?

World peace

End world hunger

A new Zelf for my collection

Who do you turn to for advice?

My own intuition is usually pretty good, but it's always good to hear a second voice on a big issue. When I need that I go straight to my boyfriend. He is the the ying to my yang and a very solid and dependable voice of reason when I'm off somewhere away with the Fairies. When I'm stuck in my idealistic big picture thinking he's bringing me back to Earth and reminding me it's bin night.

Who do you turn to for a shoulder to cry on?

Again, I have to say it's the boyfriend, but if he's not around I find just throwing myself on the floor and sobbing my heart out to the Universe is very therapeutic!

Favourite book?

Twilight. Not only did I adore the story, but it made me think maybe I could write a book too. Reading it was the catalyst to writing my own YA Paranormal novel. I used to be a High School English teacher so people usually expect me to list a bunch of classics when they ask me that question, but the truth is I loved Twilight. And I also love Sweet Valley High and I still pick them up and read them now, because why the hell not?

Favourite movie?

Xanadu. The most magical movie you will ever watch. It's all about believing in your dreams and making them happen. On roller-skates. With a killer soundtrack.

Favourite childhood game?

Singing in front of the mirror with my hairbrush, My Little Pony and Barbies!

Fantasy career? Why?

Yeah, it's still being Kylie Minogue, because – Kylie! Although I have to say I'd be pretty darn happy to keep doing this New Age Hipster thing with a plate of YA author on the side!

Words for Monday motivation?

Thank you for another day on planet Earth!

Working for the Weekend, the 80's classic by Loverboy. I dare you to listen to it and not at least tap your foot!

Favourite quote?

“Life moves pretty fast, if you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” Ferris Bueller.

Thanks so much Vix!

x Louise

Contacts

bottom of page